DIY · Personal

Be a Basic Bitch

How do you handle stress? I’ve had a roller coaster of a week since we’ve last chatted. But I don’t want to dwell on the negative events. Instead I’ll update you to the happy things that have happened.

Finally established my California residency, plates and all. I can drive and park where I please. Previously I had been That Girl™ living out of her car with no plates (my temp plate flew off in a sand storm. Not kidding.), so I’ve been hiding in the garage for a few weeks. It’s been nice to get out a bit.

I was offered a social media internship not to long ago, which I graciously accepted. While it’s unpaid, I’m still excited to get my foot in the door somewhere, especially in marketing. I’m still seeking paid employment because bills, but that’s still a struggle.

I gave myself a day of pampering on Sunday, a spa day. I’ve actually never done the whole, go to a real spa, get a massage, be a princess thing, so this was really exciting for me. Never in my life have I been so relaxed, at least not since I left the womb. My face has never been smoother, and I can’t remember the last time my neck wasn’t sore. Lipstic Salon and Spa, y’all. I’m in love. Once home I followed it up with a quick pedi, because I am freakin’ princess now. Rings on fingers. Bells on toes. Despite all the good, I’m still a little meh, or at least more meh than usual.

IMG_1629
Very hyper-aware of my crooked posters now.

As I’ve said in my previous post, when I’m feeling disorganized, my bullet journal helps me feel in place and focused. I’m able to get creative with my schedule and put my mind towards something less rigid. Think over-simplified left brain, right brain. Pen to paper, I was actually able to churn out weekly spreads for the first two weeks of August, and I’m in love?

Some of you already know that I am a Basic Bitch, meaning my layouts tend to be more simplified. Too much on a page gets my brain going in too many ways for me to focus on the task at hand. Keeping that in mind, I limited myself to one color each week. This gives each page just enough pop to be Insta-worthy while keeping a simplistic air. I’m using a Bic Brite Liner for each page, and I gotta say I’m fairly surprised with the lack of bleed through. Who knew all it would take was a simple highlighter?

This month’s layout also show me using the standard Sunday to Saturday week. Previously, I had used Monday to Sunday, but as I don’t have a typical workweek with a classic two-day weekend, I thought I’d go for something different.

Aug. 1-5 is inspired by Instagram user @amsterdamdoodles. I love the use of two side columns for each day, and luckily for my journals it works for short weeks like this. With not much going on at the moment, it’s perfect for tracking meals, or if it’s more your style, notes about the day. The second page is mostly just to keep me focused for the week and where I can get my events organized for the next week.

I’ve also added a money tracker in the corner. With my only job so far being unpaid, I really have to watch where my money goes. This holds me accountable to any frivolous spending and also helps me keep track of bill payments days. I think for next month, this will be going into my monthly habit tracker.

I’m also really proud with how my hand lettering turned out. Snaps for Maggie!

Aug. 6-12 is back to basic boxes. I will definitely be using this theme again. While I’m sure I’ll miss the extra space for notes and meal planning, this layout fits perfectly in my small journals. I have just enough room for daily events I have so far without limiting myself in space. Everything fits perfectly together like little puzzle pieces.

If you’re wondering why I haven’t filled my boxes in yet, I personally enjoy doing that on Saturdays or Sundays. This allows to have all my events in order, plus any time I plan too far in advance, my entire calendar changes. Is that just me, or does it happen to anyone else?

Of course, it’s going to be time for a new weekly spread before we know it! Meanwhile, what kinds of layouts are you using? Are you a Basic Bitch or something a little extra? Let me know what works best for you!

2 thoughts on “Be a Basic Bitch

  1. Welcome to California. Kudos to you on being so organized. I’ve tried to start up Journal before to stay organized and I never kept up with it. Perhaps if journals came pre-printed like the one you’re doing it would be easier to keep up.

    Like

    1. Thanks! And I totally agree. Sometimes the layouts can be daunting. Unfortunately I’ve yet to find a pre-lined agenda that works for my brain. Maybe we just found our money maker!

      Like

Leave a Reply

