Review · Spa Day

Spa Day: R&F Redefine Daily Cleansing Mask

Disclaimer: I am in no way sponsored by any brands mentioned in this post, but I’d sell out in a heartbeat for a lifetime supply of facial products.

Who doesn’t love a good spa day? We live in a post “Treat Yo Self” world, and I will openly say that I am 100% motivated by reward. So after a grueling job application session I like to pamper myself for a job well done. Sometimes I’ll give myself a full pedi or nice long bath, but most days…it’s a mask.

Like the rest of beauty bloggers out there, I have a weird obsession with finding the perfect mask that fits in the center of this venn diagram:

Screenshot (7)My white whale, so to speak.

I have a modest collect of face creams and masks that I apply in a very loose routine. Some I actually use daily, some are when I’m feeling especially dry or oily. Then of course we have the luxury masks that I only use when I’m feeling extra fancy. But today, we’re doing something a bit basic.

In full disclosure, I naturally have really nice skin. Always have. With the exception of one menstrual zit, I rarely breakout, nor did I have an awkward teen acne stage. If anything, I get a little dry around my nose and tend to have a a bit of reddening on my cheeks, but nothing major. Call me #Blessed. All the same, I still take care of my skin. I use a daily moisturizer with SPF, I drink a lot of water, and if I’m in the sun for an extended period of time, I’m the weirdo in the hat. Now I’m not saying that using any of these products will guarantee airbrushed quality skin or clear your breakout. These products, which will all be tagged Spa Day going forward, are just what I’ve found to work. Or not work. It’s a process.

Today we’re talking the Redefine Daily Cleansing Mask by Rodan and Fields. The mask is clay based with gentle exfoliators that boasts leaving skin smoother and younger looking. Apply to the face in a generous coating but be careful not to go too thick and allow it to dry for a few minutes. Wash it off in a scrubbing motion with warm water, then pat dry. I usually follow up with moisturizer.

IMG_1593
Money Shot

While I can’t say anything definitive for the younger skin, my face is smooth. This could be my youthful glow, though it might also be because I don’t actually use it daily. Oops. The exfoliators are just enough to keep dry flakes at bay and it rinses off pretty well. The clay never leaves me feeling dried out which can happen with other masks that dry to activate. In all honesty, the mask pretty much does what it promises, which is awesome. It’s a good, all grounds covered, gentle exfoliating mask and scrub.

But then there’s the downside. Like I said earlier, I don’t use it everyday, but that’s because it’s expensive. The bottle is just at 4.2 oz and retails at $43. Granted, yes, R&F is one of those brands where if you’re selling it or are a preferred customer you can get some nice discounts. However, this is still a product they encourage using twice a day for maximum effect. The dollars add up. If I’m paying over $40 for a mask, I want it to bubble or change color or tell the future. Neutrogena Clear Pore works the same way and at the low cost of $8. A lot of the ingredients are the same, including the white kaolin clay in the Rodan and Fields mask.

So let’s wrap it up. Rodan and Fields have a great product that does what it says. It’s a great mask for when I need a quick pampering, easy to pack and use when traveling, and doesn’t make a mess. If I had the money to shell out $43 every time my bottle ran out, I’d probably keep using it. That being said, I don’t. My daily mask is more of a 2-3 times a week mask, so I can make every drop count. So again I’ll mention that I’m totally open to selling out.

For more information on R&F’s Redefine Daily Cleansing Mask, click here.

For more information on Neutrogena’s Clear Pore Cleanser/Mask, click here.

 

Leave a Reply

