Foodie

Bulletproof Coffee

I won’t go into too much detail about dinner, but let’s just say I was “good ‘n hungry” and I haven’t eaten Cincy faire in a while. Delicious? Yes. Does my body low-key hate me? Even more so.

I am a serial snacker. The snack out of boredom type. If there is a plate of food within arm’s reach, I will eat it because I am unstoppable. Seriously. I can be dissuaded from almost anything except eating.

That’s why I’m writing about this strange concoction that has done just that, and I promise it’s not as gross as the picture looks. Bulletproof Coffee is by no means a new concept to the world, so let me approach this as a coffee purist.

I’m by no means a snob. I like my coffee black and bitter, and it’s only for special occasions or seasonal lattes that I’ll add sugar or spice or anything nice. Meanwhile, if I’m drinking coffee catch me chugging green tea frappes in the most basic fashion. But back to coffee.

As comforting as the bitter taste is on a cold morning, it often leaves me feeling empty aka hungry, and always calls for toast or a breakfast sammy along with. That’s where’s bulletproof coffee has its benefits. Bulletproof coffee has 1-2 tablespoons of MCT oil, which is essentially the good parts of coconut oil. Without getting too scientific, MCTs are those mystical good saturated fats you hear about that help keep you feeling full without the bad stuff. And because the oil and butter help you digest the coffee more easily, you can get that sweet caffeine fix you need.

mct oil
Believe it or not, my boyfriend actually just happened to have some.

The claim is that bulletproof coffee will jump start your metabolism, help get your brain ticking a better, and *fingers crossed* keep the weight off, especially if you’re on a low-carb diet,  However, you don’t have to be a nutritionist to guess that this is an empty calorie meal. I tend to eat something with it, toast or an egg that way I’m giving my body a little more to work with throughout the morning.

And I guess this is the point where I talk about how much of what actually went into my cup this morning, and I’ll include a link to which oil I used. You’re welcome.

Bulletproof Coffee

Ingridients

  • 1-2 Tbsp MCT Oil
  • 1-2 Tbsp unsalted butter
  • Coffee

Steps

  1. Brew Coffee
  2. Mix
  3. Drink
bfast
Today’s breakfast is brought to you by butter.

I bullet coffee on days that I don’t workout (Those are more high calorie days), and it generally keeps me feeling surprisingly full throughout the day. I snack lightly around lunch, but I don’t need my full lunch like I would normally do. Of course now as we’re approaching dinner, the power has weakened, and I want a giant hamburger, just one of the many downsides to living by an In-N-Out.

So much for diet mode.

Leave a Reply

